🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro Update: Making Sense Of The New Limits on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Prime made for students and young adults
- Fast, free delivery for dorm and study essentials
- Prime Video and Amazon Music included
- Member-only deals
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan one day before it was due to take effect. It also doubled Work and Codex allowances on Pro 100 and Pro 500, while Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance were raised to the higher level. Other limits and plan details differ, and Business Premium’s increase has no official published multiplier.
OpenAI canceled a planned cut to ChatGPT Pro 200 usage on October 29, a day before the reduction was due to begin, and increased Work and Codex allowances across several paid plans. The company said Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers would receive twice their previous Work and Codex allowance; Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance were brought up to the higher one, while prices remained unchanged.
OpenAI’s October 29 release notes said Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous allowance for ChatGPT Work and Codex. OpenAI’s help page describes Work and Codex usage as sharing an allowance, so the increase applies to their common pool rather than adding separate amounts for each service. The company said the change took effect immediately.
For Pro 200, priced at $200 a month, OpenAI said it canceled the reduction announced in a September 29 email. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it; those on the lower allowance receive an increase to match. The help page also says the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit on Pro 200 now matches the higher limit. By contrast, the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged.
OpenAI’s updated help page says existing subscribers receive the new allowances automatically, without waiting for a renewal, and new subscriptions include them. Plus usage and prices are unchanged. Ultrafast, the faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500, according to the supplied account of the updated page. Business Premium usage is also increasing, but OpenAI’s release note does not state a multiplier.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
What Higher Allowances Change
The reversal matters to subscribers who had been told their Pro 200 Work and Codex allowance would fall from the higher level they had been receiving. Canceling the cut avoids that reduction for affected customers; the updated terms also mean subscribers on the lower allowance move up. For Pro 100 and Pro 500 customers, the shared Work and Codex pool grows, which may give them more room for longer tasks and coding work.
But a doubled allowance does not mean twice as many completed tasks. OpenAI says consumption varies with the model, task and speed mode. The allowance applies to a defined set of Work and Codex usage, not every ChatGPT limit. Users comparing plans should distinguish that shared allowance from weekly chat limits and other plan features, and check their account’s usage details before changing subscriptions.
For organizations, the announced Business Premium increase may affect how teams allocate seats, but the missing official multiplier makes its size difficult to quantify from OpenAI’s note alone. Companies should also keep subscription allowances separate from API budgets: the announcement concerns ChatGPT plan usage, not a stated change to API pricing or capacity.
Popular right now

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones, Sandstone

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Vitamix Propel Series 510 Professional-Grade Blender, 3 Programs, Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the September Plan Changed
The change follows a series of plan updates. On September 10, OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux attributed the move to demand for GPT-6 Astra, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That statement was about demand for the model; it does not establish why the later allowance decision was made.
On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. An email to affected users said included usage allowances were changing, while the monthly price would remain $200. A post by Sottiaux described the intended allowance ladder as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, with some existing subscribers retaining a 20X multiplier temporarily. The planned October 30 reduction prompted the concern that OpenAI then reversed.
The October 29 release notes are narrower than the broad wording in Sottiaux’s post on X, which said the company was doubling “all usage limits” for Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business Premium. OpenAI’s help page specifies which limits changed and which did not. For plan-by-plan details, the help page is the more precise account: it says Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged and distinguishes Pro 200 subscribers according to their previous allowance.
““Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.””
— Thibault Sottiaux, in a September post on X, as reported by TechCrunch
OpenAI’s release notes say Business Premium usage is increasing but do not publish a multiplier. Sottiaux’s post says the increase doubles usage, but that claim is broader than the official release note’s detail. The size of the Business Premium increase is not specified in OpenAI’s note, so customers should not treat the precise amount as independently confirmed there.
The source material also does not give the numerical Work and Codex allowances for each plan, or explain how OpenAI calculates usage across different models, tasks and speed modes. It is therefore not possible from the announcement alone to translate the change into a fixed number of extra prompts, coding sessions or completed projects. OpenAI’s note does not describe changes for Business Standard, Go or Free, which should not be interpreted as confirmation that those plans’ limits changed.
The material attributes the reversal to customer feedback, but OpenAI has not provided a fuller account of its decision or a detailed cost and capacity rationale. It is also not clear whether the announced allowances will remain fixed or could be revised again. No new pricing was announced, but the usage terms have changed within the existing subscription prices.
Check Plan Details and Usage
For current subscribers, OpenAI says the updated allowance applies automatically, with no need to wait for the next billing date or take an activation step. Users can check their account’s plan and usage information to see which allowance applies to them, particularly if they are on Pro 200 and do not know whether they previously had the lower or higher level.
Businesses considering Premium seats should seek clarification from OpenAI about the size and application of the increase, since the official note does not state a multiplier. Users weighing a move between individual plans should compare the specific allowance and chat limits listed for each tier, rather than assuming every limit doubled. The next useful update would be a fuller published breakdown of Business Premium usage and plan-level allowance amounts; the source material provides no date for one.
Key Questions
What changed for ChatGPT Pro subscribers?
OpenAI canceled the planned Pro 200 allowance reduction and doubled the Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 200 subscribers who were on the lower allowance were raised to match the higher one.
Did every ChatGPT Pro limit double?
No. The change covers the Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500, with a different adjustment for Pro 200. OpenAI says the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged; Plus usage is unchanged too.
Does Pro 200 now have the same allowance for every subscriber?
OpenAI says subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it, while those on the lower allowance now receive the higher level. Its help page also says the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one.
How much more usage does Business Premium get?
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not state an amount. Thibault Sottiaux said the increase doubles usage in a post, but the official note does not provide that multiplier.
Do subscribers need to do anything to get the updated allowance?
No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the change automatically, without waiting for renewal. The updated help page says new subscriptions include the allowance as well.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
