AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Musk’s Grok Cost Concerns Put AI Flat Rates Under Scrutiny on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Age 18–24?Offer from Amazon

Prime made for students and young adults

  • Fast, free delivery for dorm and study essentials
  • Prime Video and Amazon Music included
  • Member-only deals
Try Prime for Young Adults Free trial for eligible 18–24 year olds
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but gave no figures and announced no specific change. The comment comes as OpenAI adds subscription-sharing limits and prepares a shared usage allowance for ChatGPT and Codex, highlighting how flat AI prices can coexist with tighter limits and metered use.

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving Grok Bot, xAI’s AI agent, was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” raising fresh questions about how providers can sustain flat monthly AI subscriptions. Musk disclosed no cost or revenue figures and did not announce a price change or new usage limit; that same week, OpenAI outlined limits on subscription sharing and a shared usage allowance for ChatGPT and Codex.

Musk’s comment came in response to an X user asking for a Grok Bot reset after users reportedly ran through their usage quickly. The user’s account of widespread rapid usage is an observation, not a published usage report. Musk replied with one sentence: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” He did not say what had changed or whether xAI would reset accounts, alter limits or adjust prices.

The statement concerned Grok Bot specifically, not Grok chat in general. According to xAI’s pricing information, the agent is included with Premium, Super and Ultra subscriptions, priced at $30, $100 and $200 per month, respectively. Its usage draws on a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and xAI models in the Cursor coding tool. xAI says use is measured in agent steps and tokens, so demanding tasks can consume the pool faster than simpler ones.

OpenAI’s recent changes point to a similar distinction between a subscription’s fixed price and the amount of service a user can draw from it. Its help center says paid plans have limits on how many accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased using a card or device. OpenAI has not published the numerical thresholds. From December, Plus, Pro and Business users are due to draw on one shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex, measured in tokens; OpenAI says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that allowance.

At a glance
reportWhen: Musk commented Nov. 1, 2026; OpenAI’s s…
The developmentMusk’s comment about Grok Bot’s costs coincided with OpenAI changes that place clearer limits on paid-account sharing and combine usage allowances across ChatGPT and Codex.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

Flat Prices, Variable AI Use

The developments matter because an AI subscription’s monthly fee does not mean every task costs the provider the same amount to serve. A short chat response and an agent that researches, browses or writes over an extended period can involve very different amounts of computation. When a plan includes both, a flat price can leave providers exposed to unusually heavy use while giving subscribers an unclear sense of how far their allowance will go.

OpenAI’s published rate card illustrates the difference in resource use across models: its most capable model uses an allowance roughly 100 times faster per output token than its cheapest model, according to the source material. That comparison applies to output tokens on the rate card, not to every task or a user’s total bill. Agent steps, model choice and task length also affect consumption.

For users, the practical issue is predictability: a plan that is described as unlimited in one respect can still have caps, shared pools or different rates of use elsewhere. For businesses, combining subscriptions with usage-based allowances makes it harder to forecast costs from seat prices alone. The changes make written details about limits, reset periods and overage options more relevant before a company commits to a vendor.

KitchenAid Artisan 5-Quart Tilt-Head Stand Mixer, Almond Cream

KitchenAid Artisan 5-Quart Tilt-Head Stand Mixer, Almond Cream

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How Subscription Limits Are Changing

The latest developments follow earlier attempts by AI providers to sell high-priced plans with broad access while managing the cost of intensive use. OpenAI launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan in December 2024, advertising unlimited access to its best models. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that OpenAI was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That comment is historical context, not evidence about the current economics of any plan.

OpenAI’s actions during the week covered by the source material were not all reductions. On Oct. 29, the company said it was doubling the Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500 and cancelling a planned cut to Pro 200. Its release notes specify those allowances; a separate post by an OpenAI employee described changes across several Pro tiers and Business Premium. The account-sharing help page and the planned shared allowance add restrictions or consolidate usage, while the Pro changes increase some allowances.

xAI launched its subscription-based Grok Bot on Oct. 12, 2026, according to the source material. Its documentation says usage depends on the steps and tokens required by a task rather than simply the number of messages. These details help explain why agent subscriptions may be harder to price as a simple, uniform amount than ordinary chat access, but they do not establish xAI’s actual serving costs or margins.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, replying on X on Nov. 1

What Grok’s Costs Reveal

Musk has not disclosed Grok Bot’s serving costs, revenue, margins or the period covered by his comment. He also did not say whether xAI changed its weekly usage pool. His use of the past tense does not establish that a specific cost reduction or limit change has already taken place.

Reports cited in the source material describe a post from Grok’s official account attributing adjusted allocations to costs and mentioning a dashboard fault. The source author said they could not locate the post itself, so those details remain reported rather than independently confirmed here. It is also unclear whether the dashboard issue affected actual usage or only how usage was displayed.

OpenAI has not specified the number of paid accounts allowed on a device or the number of subscriptions permitted per card or device. Further details about how its shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance will work in practice, including how users will see consumption and what happens when they reach a limit, were not included in the source material. No direct comparison of xAI’s and OpenAI’s unit costs is available.

Watch for Limits and Pricing

The next stated milestone is OpenAI’s planned move in December 2026 to a shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex for Plus, Pro and Business plans. Subscribers and organizations will need the company’s detailed plan guidance to understand how token use is counted, how the allowance is displayed and what options are available after it runs out.

For xAI, the outstanding questions are whether it will clarify the Grok Bot pool, publish more specific usage rules or announce changes to pricing or access. Musk’s reply alone does not confirm any of those steps. Until the companies provide more detail, subscribers can check their account usage and plan terms, while businesses can ask vendors for written information on allowances, reset schedules and charges beyond included usage.

Key Questions

What did Musk say about Grok Bot?

On Nov. 1, 2026, Musk said its serving cost was “unsustainably high relative to revenue.” He did not give figures or announce a specific change to price or access.

Does Musk’s statement mean Grok Bot limits were cut?

Not by itself. Musk did not say whether xAI changed the weekly usage pool, by how much, or whether a reset would be offered. Claims about adjusted allocations described in other reports were not independently confirmed in the source material.

What is OpenAI changing for ChatGPT and Codex?

OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use one shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex beginning in December. Unlimited Instant chats are described as outside that meter.

Are flat-rate AI subscriptions ending?

The information available does not show that flat monthly prices are ending. It does show that a fixed subscription price may come with account-sharing restrictions, usage pools or metering, so the included amount can matter as much as the monthly fee.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

The Future Of Digital Security Is Intelligent: What AI Brings To The Table

Exploring how AI is transforming digital security, from detecting vulnerabilities to preventing breaches, and what it means for future protection.

SpaceX IPO is a ‘referendum’ on Musk, say market watchers

Market watchers see SpaceX’s IPO as a referendum on Musk, with high valuation and voting rights key concerns amid investor skepticism.

What Has Actually Been Confirmed About Anthropic And Its Rating?

A report says Blackstone expects Anthropic to receive a double-B rating after its IPO. No major agency has announced a rating.

The Bubble Question, Disentangled: 1999 vs 2026 Category by Category

A detailed analysis compares the 1999 dotcom bubble with the 2026 AI cycle, exploring bubble signals, real value, and future implications across categories.